Speak up: Sexual assault awareness and prevention

Hey guys!

This week at the University of Oregon, various groups will be raising awareness and offering classes to educate and inform students about sexual violence and the steps you can take to protect yourself. Starting today, the University is putting out thousands of flags on the Knight Library Memorial Quad to represent individuals who are assaulted on and near the campus.

Photo courtesy of Flickr user Wolfram Burner.

Photo courtesy of Flickr user Wolfram Burner.

This has become a very important topic to me since I was assaulted in April. It was a terrible experience and unfortunately, I am still dealing with it. I went to see a therapist and spent many months terrified to leave my house. I knew I couldn’t let this guy get away with anything, so I spoke up. I told everyone who would listen and I did what most people refuse to do: I told the police. I didn’t want him to try and hurt me again, and I certainly didn’t want anyone else going through the hell I went through. It hurts to know that so many people are assaulted and remain silent, so I’ve been doing all I can to try and raise awareness by speaking to support groups on campus and donating to causes. If you have been a victim of sexual assault or violence, know you are not alone and you do not need to stay silent. This is your body, your rights and your life. Speak up and be proud to raise awareness. We’ll all get through this, but it will be a much smoother and rewarding process if we stand up and do this together. I believe in you.

If you need help contact your nearest support group or hotline, there are thousands across the nation that are waiting and willing to help you through this.

23 thoughts on “Speak up: Sexual assault awareness and prevention

  1. Vee

    What an inspiration you are!!! You should be really proud of yourself for how far you’ve come and the fact you’re helping others too x

    Reply
  2. Ms B. BAD

    I am proud of you for speaking out. I too, have been a victim. I am happy to hear you are doing better and gaining strength from the situation so many people let things bring them down. Youre awesome! BTW have you heard about that frat email that went around about how to lure rapebait? Disgusting!

    Reply
    1. jasminekeclipse Post author

      Thank you so much. I am sorry to hear you have been victimized by sexual violence. Yes, I have seen that email and it is very disturbing to know there are people like that out there, it only proves that what we are doing is completely necessary. Speaking up is the best thing you can do!

      Reply
  3. Pingback: SHARE YOUR VOICE: Break The Silence On Abuse | Arise Woman

  4. thecarlosshow

    I’m sorry that happened to you jas:( I’m glad you and your school are trying to speak up about a serious topic. It’s a shame it happens to anyone but unfortunately there are sick people who will always exist. It’s important for us to comfort each other when things like this happen

    Reply

Come on, tell me what you think...

