Review: Estée Lauder Holiday 2013 Set

Hey guys! I received this gift for Christmas this year and I’m really happy with it, so I wanted to do a review and haul on it! Enjoy!

Estée Lauder Holiday 2013 Makeup Collection — $375

photo 1

The bag that the makeup set is in is a really sturdy, structured leather/snakeskin material, and it’s also really stylish. I was also thinking that if I didn’t want to use this as a traveling makeup bag, it would make a great computer case!

Screen Shot 2013-12-26 at 11.17.34 PM

This is what the inside of the bag looks like, everything was set up in such an appealing manner. The theme for this year’s holiday set was gold and I didn’t want to touch anything!

Screen Shot 2013-12-26 at 11.17.43 PM

The first compact is a blush and bronzer set. They are highly pigmented and so far I haven’t noticed any fallout.

Screen Shot 2013-12-26 at 11.17.52 PM Screen Shot 2013-12-26 at 11.18.26 PM

The second compact is my personal favorite: eyeshadows. The first time I used Estée Lauder eye products was for my junior prom in high school (I’m aging myself, here), anyway, I instantly fell in love with the quality and how long all the products last on your face. I even tried using the products without any primers to see how long they last without the help of my handy Benefit POREfessional, and let me tell you … this makeup lasts long, if not longer, than with primers! Plus, the colors are spectacular, creamy and blend really well.

Screen Shot 2013-12-26 at 11.19.30 PM Screen Shot 2013-12-26 at 11.19.21 PM

Next are three lipsticks. Growing up in Hawaii, I didn’t really get into lipsticks because everyone here rocks the nude lip, but I’ve recently began using more lip colors. This is another long-lasting product, but long-lasting lipwear always surprises me because whether we realize it or not, we do a lot of things with our mouths throughout the day. But, these colors will last you until the next day, plus they’re gorgeous shades! These three will be great additions to my collection.

Screen Shot 2013-12-26 at 11.19.39 PM

These two lip glosses add the perfect amount of shine (sans stickiness) and they work extremely well with the lipsticks included in the set.

Screen Shot 2013-12-26 at 11.20.00 PM

You guys know mascara is my weakness … I’ve always used drugstore brands because they’re cheaper and I’ve always found that they all do the same job as more expensive brands, BUT that was before I tried the Sumptuous Extreme Lash mascara. I’m in love and I don’t think I’ll ever be the same. The eyeliner is made in Italy and it’s so creamy and the color is as rich as blacks can be. It makes a nice thin line and it also smudges really well. It isn’t waterproof but again, they last a long, long time. I haven’t put these babies through the crying test yet, so once I watch the Notebook (Oh, Ryan Gosling and your beautiful soul), I’ll let you know how well they hold up when the waterworks flow.

Screen Shot 2013-12-26 at 11.18.58 PM

Also in the set is this classic red nail polish. My only comment is: If you buy this, just use one coat. Seriously. That is all you will need. This is the thickest, most pigmented nail color I have ever used. I love it!

Screen Shot 2013-12-26 at 11.18.39 PM

I’m a sucker for creams and oils for my skin, so I was really excited when I saw this in the box. You put this on at night and it is supposed to thicken your skin, add some healthy shine to your complexion and increase your natural youthfulness. Although I’m still considered a spring chicken, this does wonders for my skin! I used it once and my skin was so much softer, brighter and happier.

Screen Shot 2013-12-26 at 11.20.08 PM

 

Lastly, we have to take all this makeup off, right? I usually use makeup remover wipes because they’re so convenient, but I’ve also used the liquid makeup remover from Clinique and let me tell you, don’t go there. Clinique’s products are usually very good for sensitive skin, but their makeup remover burns my eyes, so I stopped using it. Using Estée Lauder’s eye makeup remover was the first time I’ve used liquid remover in years and I am so pleased with the job it does. I soaked one cotton ball and that’s all I needed, it didn’t leave my eyes greasy and it certainly didn’t irritate my eyes, which was a plus!

Overall, this is definitely worth the price. The quality is great, these products last a long time and the packaging is so glamorous! Well done, Estée Lauder, well done.

7 thoughts on “Review: Estée Lauder Holiday 2013 Set

Come on, tell me what you think...

